Writing with Light

Searching for Petra

Petra is a historical city which was established as far back as 312 BCE by the Nabataeans. It’s situated on the slopes of Jebel al-Madhbah which some have identified as the biblical Mount Hor.

Petra is a place that has long been on my bucket list of places to visit and photograph and when I visited Israel in May the opportunity to visit Petra presented itself. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to plan an extended visit which would have allowed me to photograph in the early morning and night but I was able to do a day trip. The day of my visit I flew from Tel Aviv to Eilat at 6:30am. I was met at the Eilat airport by a representative of Desert Eco Tours, which if you ever find yourself in the region is an excellent company. This was the second time I’ve used them and they did not disappoint. We drove 10 minutes to the Israeli / Jordanian border and from there met up with Mohammed, our tour guide, who would take us to this ancient city. It’s a two hour drive from the border to Petra and before entering the ancient city we stopped to view the surrounding mountains.

As I was staring out at the view I asked Mohammed where Petra was. His response was that you can’t see Petra because it was strategically built so that it stayed hidden and protected it from invaders. Mohammed then point far off into the distance and drew my attention to a tiny white dot at the top of the mountain….Aaron’s Tomb.  Aaron (or Harun as he is known in Arabic) was Moses’ brother and the Old Testament states that Aaron died and was buried atop Mount Hor. While some believe Mount Hor is located in the Sinai desert. The Jewish historian Josephus Flavius in the 1st century AD, places the final resting place of Aaron on this mountaintop.  That little tiny white dot is actually a small mosque built atop Aaron’s tomb in the 14th Century and it acts as a mercer to the entrance of Petra. Aaron’s final resting place is a Holy site for the Islamic, Jewish and Christian faiths and many make the one day pilgrimage to visit Aaron’s tomb. It’s a 3 1/2 hour hike up the mountain and down so unfortunately I din’t have time to do it…this time.

Click on the image to enlarge and you’ll get a glimpse at Aaron’s Tomb.

Petra, Jordan, Aaron's Tomb, Jebel Haroun, Mount Hor, mountains, black & white

31 responses

  1. I was hoping for a color picture of Petra.

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 10:12 am

  2. Wonderful shot. That is a place I would love to visit. Hopefully you;’ll show us some more photos later.

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 10:14 am

  3. Petra is one of my all time favorite places – and you actually do not need a guide or travel group to experience it. But I do reccomend a guide like you did – you learn so much more about the rich history!

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 10:27 am

    • Thank you Joseph for visiting and for your comment. Yes there are certain places where a guide is a must if you want to learn about the history and our guide was fantastic.

      Like

      June 19, 2014 at 11:23 am

  4. I like the juxtaposition of nature and human nature that is so evident in that part of the world.

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 11:06 am

  5. I like very much this picture!

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 12:10 pm

  6. Wow!

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 1:03 pm

  7. Stunning, Edith!

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 1:42 pm

  8. A nice place with my name 😉

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 3:45 pm

  9. How cool to see the places that you have only read and heard about. Love the picture!

    Like

    June 19, 2014 at 11:09 pm

  10. A very dramatic landscape Edith and I love the composition.

    Like

    June 20, 2014 at 3:48 am

  11. Wonderful shot and edition!!! I have been there, two nights….It is one of the most wonderful places in the world!!!
    Hoipe you will post more pics!!! 🙂

    Like

    June 20, 2014 at 7:55 am

  12. Sounds like an amazing journey!

    Like

    June 20, 2014 at 8:54 am

  13. Edith, I absolutely love this!
    Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

    June 20, 2014 at 5:57 pm

  14. Lovely shot Edith. Very nice composition and tonality.

    Like

    June 21, 2014 at 7:28 pm

  15. Beautiful B&W!

    Like

    June 22, 2014 at 4:25 pm

  16. Glad you got to see Petra. It’ s definitely on my bucket list.

    Like

    June 23, 2014 at 12:08 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.