Writing with Light

iPhone Friday – Talking Phoneography

A couple of months ago I was asked by the President of my Photography Club to deliver a presentation on the basics of Phoneography. The presentation was a success and the members of the club that were in attendance that night were very appreciative of the information delivered and excited to explore the many of the apps that I talked about and the capabilities of their phone camera. As a result of this presentation I was then asked to write a guest post on the GTCCC blog.

The GTCCC (Greater Toronto Council of Camera Clubs) is an association that governs the photo/camera clubs in the Greater Toronto Area in Ontario stretching from Oshawa in the east to Hamilton in the West. Every month they ask one club to submit a guest post to their readership. I was honoured to be asked to contribute as a guest writer. You can find my post, Phoneography – Taking Big Pictures with a Little Lens by clicking on the link.

On another note, last week I was reading David Pasillas (aka iPhonePhotographer) and he was reviewing an app called DistressedFX. David writes terrific reviews and I’ve found a lot of apps and inspiration through him….check him out. I download DistressedFx but didn’t get a chance to try it out until a couple of days ago. I really like this app. I took this last summer in California but never really did anything with it. What do you think? Let me tell you a little secret…but don’t tell anyone 😉 the birds weren’t in the original image.

iPhoneography, iPhone, pier, California, DistressedFX, Snapseed, GTCCC,

 

 

31 responses

  1. Congratulations on the feature. I took a look at GTCCC. I use the folder system too, except that the most commonly used camera apps and photo tools stay on the “photography” screen.

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 9:02 am

  2. Great post Edith, and congrats on becoming an authority on smartphone photography. It’s crazy how common it is now, and it’s unbelievable how much phones have killed the point-and-shoot market in such a short period.

    One trick I’ve learned with my phone, is that by waving my phone across my body while clicking the shutter, it distorts the objects in the image. It will stretch the image, or bend it slightly, depending on what your motion was.

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 9:26 am

  3. I like playing with my iPhone photos too. There are so many apps out there! WHAT!??? The birds weren’t in the original image?? How shameful….lol. Just kidding. It’s a beautiful image and congrats on getting the feature!

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 10:43 am

  4. west517

    I love this!

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 10:54 am

  5. Love this! I have to try it! Thanks! 🙂

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 11:22 am

  6. Congrats Edith. I’m going to need to get your autograph soon I think :).

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 2:16 pm

  7. Congratulations, Edith!
    This photograph is really beautiful.
    I love Distressed FX.

    I wish you a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    May 9, 2014 at 7:48 pm

  8. LB

    Pretty cool image, with the added birds! Isn’t it such a good feeling to have a speaking engagement go so well?
    I’m still using the Blackberry (gasp! I know but I love my Bberry and keyboard) so i really don’t use apps for the phone. Glad others enjoy them so much.

    Like

    May 10, 2014 at 7:22 am

    • Thanks Laurie. I used to be a Blackberry user and said I would never switch and now I’m hooked on my iPhone and what I can do with it.

      Like

      May 10, 2014 at 8:57 am

  9. Great shot Edith. Love to processing!

    Like

    May 10, 2014 at 10:40 pm

  10. I’m off on a ‘speaking’ engagement myself soon – they take a lot of time preparing! But it’s amazing how the preparation work can be such a useful learning exercise. I like the image. And I’ve bookmarked the post on GTCCC for use later. Thanks for that link

    Like

    May 11, 2014 at 1:54 pm

  11. Congratulations Edith! Love the the image! I used Distressedfx on my iPhone and she is the same person I purchase textures from to use on my larger images on my blog. Her website is distressedtextures.

    Like

    May 11, 2014 at 7:25 pm

  12. Len

    What a great effect Edith. Love the image. It is amazing what these apps can do these days.

    Like

    May 12, 2014 at 6:49 am

  13. Congrats on your selection for the presentation and guest post. Cool stuff, Edith!
    I like the processing on this image. Great touch with the birds. 🙂

    Like

    May 12, 2014 at 8:52 am

  14. I warmly greet you and invite you to see my new photos.
    I wish you a successful week.

    Like

    May 12, 2014 at 11:02 am

  15. rigmover

    Great post Edith, glad you added the birds.

    Like

    May 14, 2014 at 6:01 am

  16. Pingback: iPhone Friday – Talking Phoneography | Ed...

  17. Pingback: iPhone Friday – Talking Phoneography | Ed...

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.